jump to navigation

The Magic Rule. March 19, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in CJ, Funny Stuff, Holidays, Kids, Parenting, TJ.
trackback

Traditionally the kids at the school are treated to Easter eggs and Easter Bunny paw prints to follow in and out of the classroom on the morning of the last school day before Easter, which will be tomorrow.

I had to pop into the P & F meeting tonight to pick up a cheque to bulk order the presents for the Mother’s Day stall (oh yes, we reached a compromise where I have bulk ordered from a local $2 shop and if it’s crap then we go back to the supplier I found last year).

While there TJ and CJ were waiting in the foyer amusing themselves when one of the teachers walked in the door with talcum powder and Easter Eggs.

As soon as TJ saw that talcum powder, he just KNEW what it was for. Easter Bunny paw prints.

After collecting my cheque, I quickly skeedaddled from the meeting and the kids couldn’t WAIT to tell me what they had seen!

So I reminded TJ of “The Magic Rule”. You know? The one where you don’t spoil the secret for those that don’t know if you figure out the trick?

We apply the rule to magic and all things magical. Santa, the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny. Those things that inspire the imagination and captivate our fancy.

It was the first time I’ve had to tell him the rule. I keep waiting for him to figure out the complete truth about the Easter Bunny and Santa, but it would seem he hasn’t yet.

As we were driving home tonight he asked me if the Easter Bunny would still find us while we are camping? “Of course” I answered. “Sure thing” says CJ from the back seat. “He comes with us in the car. haha!”.

I’ll be a little sad I think when he does finally twig. Planning and playing the mythical gift giver is so much fun!

Comments

1. Kin - March 19, 2008

I agree. I don’t know what I’m going to do when my kids catch on. I love playing Santa.

2. Bettina - March 19, 2008

It’s fun isn’t it Kin? 🙂 But still, the girls still love playing along with the game even though they know. I even overheard Miss Lou tell her aunt the other day that “of course Santa didn’t come at dad’s house cos he didn’t believe” lmao

3. Casdok - March 19, 2008

I love magic things and kids! Its so great for the imagination!

4. Bettina - March 19, 2008

yes, it is. I don’t quite understand these parents who objec to ‘lying’ to their children by indulging in a bit of harmless fantasy.

5. widdleshamrock - March 20, 2008

Awww B, Celtic Lad was just telling me that Santa leaves a lump of coal for those who don’t believe in him. Have no idea where he got that from !!!! lol

6. Anja - March 20, 2008

Who says magick doesn’t happen? *winks*

7. lightening - March 20, 2008

Wish I could somehow pass that on to DD. She keeps letting the secret out of the bag.

Personally, I prefer it that our kids know the “secret”. Means that I get all the credit. 😉 But I wish she wouldn’t keep telling her friends.

8. Bettina - March 20, 2008

WS – LOL! Tis common knowledge my dear! Actually I’ve seen that mentioned in a movie or two.

Anja – *winks* I know, I know

Lightening – the little bugga! My 5 yr old niece is the same. I did manage to sit her down one day and tell her “the rule”. Seemed to come better from me. Perhaps you need a trusted adult friend to tell her about the rule too so it’s not just mum saying it?

9. Gemisht - March 20, 2008

LOL, I had to come clean about Santa at the end of last year for Tiger – when your kid says they want to ask you a question and you have to tell them the truth, what are you to do………..

But he was given strict instructions NOT to ruin the magic for his friends and his little sister. So far so good.

And in case I don’t get back here before you go, have a great weekend camping, take care on the roads and see ya when you get back.

We’ll take care of the place for you – did you leave the cat food out so we can feed the cat? WS is collecting the mail and papers isn’t she??? Is there anything else that needs doing while you’re away. Promise we will look after the place so you can go away and relax :p

10. scrappydo - March 20, 2008

The lump of coal comes from all sorts of cultures – one of which is the Dutch SinterKlaas and his Zwarte Piets (Black Peters). SinterKlaas leave a lump of black coal for the naughty kids or the zwarte piets collect them in a sack and take them back to Spain…..!

And we all need Magic…. keep it alive for as long as possible I say! 😆

11. Anja - March 20, 2008

Scrappydo, that’s fantastic. We have another historian in our midst, guys.

You’ve inspired me to read further about that. 🙂

12. Tracey - March 20, 2008

It’s really sad when they realise ‘the truth’. It causes a world of hurt for all concerned. However, it is SO MUCH EASIER! No sneaking around, no pretending, no hoping they don’t wake up and catch you. It does decrease the ‘magic’ factor though, and that is very sad. There is not enough magic in this world as it is!

13. magneto bold too - March 20, 2008

Boo has only started getting it in the last couple of years. And the girls adore making it special for him. So I guess I am lucky that I get even more years of magic!

14. clutterbells - March 21, 2008

Black coal is considered good luck in Scotland when you are first footing on New Years day.

We had fun at the kids school yesterday being Easter Bunnies. Nothing quite like kids and chocolate, regardless of whether the Easter Bunny is real or not.

15. Smiley Saturday. « Despite all the rage I am still just a rat in a cage. - March 22, 2008

[…] Bettina, our winsome wandering wench, mentioned the magic rule. […]

16. widdleshamrock - March 22, 2008

Our Chickens are going to have laid some amazing eggs tomorrow I think ….. 😉

17. Anja - March 22, 2008

I want to see what Amy the rabbit produces. Damn, I didn’t know a bunneh could do that.

*slaps head with hand* Keep it clean, Ms. Shamrock. 😉

18. Talia - March 25, 2008

At 20 my mum still gives me presents from Santa!! All my brothers are grown up too, but you can’t stop traditions!!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry