jump to navigation

My Media Week February 3, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Blogging stuff, Meme's, Random Thoughts.
trackback

Thanks to Jayne and Nikki (Widdle Shamrock) who both tagged me for this meme which asks us to look at our media consumption over the past week.

* Books – I’ve read “Northern Lights” by Philip Pullman. A girlfriend asked me to let her know how the movie was when I saw it as she’d been told it was anti-christian. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but having read the book I dunno about anti-christian as I don’t see questioning the bible as something anti-christian to do, but certainly anti-establishment. Having read interviews with the author I can now see how the anti-christian comments have arisen, but simply reading the book did not give me that impression.

I’m also reading “Gideon’s Torch” by Charles Coulson and Ellen Vaughn. It’s a fictional work set against the backdrop of the American politics that highlights the volatile issue of abortion. It raises many questions about the legitimacy of using “evil deeds for the ultimate good” thoroughly condemning violence as a means of protest or as a response to protests and dissent. Regardless of where you stand on the issue of abortion, it is a thought provoking read though obviously written from a christian perspective.

I have also been reading my usual Word For Today readings, along with Sepron the Sea Serpent which is the second book of the Beast Quest series that TJ and I have been reading together.

* TV/Video – The only show I’ve really gone out of my way to watch this past week is Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares. I never knew that chefs used the word “f*ck” so frequently! My telly watching is minimal these days. Even when I do have it on, it’s mainly background noise or a distraction as I do other stuff. Except for Dr Phil, my lunchtime companion of choice lol. You gotta have a laugh in your day somewhere!! The antics this week of a bunch of stage mums desperate to push their children towards fame was both amusing and shocking at the same time.

* Music – haven’t really had much of a chance to play my own stuff lately, just the kids latest compilation CD’s and while I’m not a great fan of Natalie Bassingthwaighte, I think I may have to add Rogue Traders to my CD collection.

Now for the important bits…….. who to tag next………..

Lightening

Kelley

Anita

Marita

Meg

My apologies to anyone who has previously been tagged.

Comments

1. Riayn - February 3, 2008

Northern Lights isn’t really anti-Christian, but the next books are, especially the final book The Amber Spyglass. Still they are a fantastic read and one of my favourite series.

2. Bettina - February 3, 2008

Interesting. Not that it worries me. I get a bit eye rolly with christians who think we should shun everything that disagrees with us or differs from us.

3. Trish - February 3, 2008

thanks for visiting my blog…and for the link to the daily devotions.
I have been looking for an online one.It looks good.It will help me with my NewYear intentions …drowning under this one.
Some good book suggestions too – read more not online is another LOL .
I don’t watch much TV (too busy blogging) but I did see the introduction to that Dr PHil show – then I switched off – didn’t think ti would have happy ending ?
I am slowly browsing around your blog – I saw you on Australian Bloggers forum and then around a few other blogs -I am liking it.
cheers
Trish

4. Weird Random Favourite Media Mentors Love Awards | Dipping into the Blogpond - February 12, 2008

[…] one of my newer blogging buddies, has tagged me about My Media Week. Let’s […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry