jump to navigation

The Truckie November 21, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Friends, Funny Stuff, Hubby.
trackback

So yesterday afternoon I’m driving to school to pick the kids up and happen to spot one of the other trucks from hubby’s working leaving the factory. (The factory is 2 blocks down and around the corner from our house).

The truck was in front of me and heading through town to go out the Sydney road. As he was turning onto the Sydney road he’s spotted me behind him and waved. A minute later he’s pulled up in front of the showground and is waving some more. I thought he was adjusting his mirrors or something so waved back and kept going. He pulled back out onto the road a moment later.

Now this particular workmate of my hubby’s is a real blokey bloke who has a bit of a biker thing going on.ย  He’s not particularly tall, but he’s got a mullet longish dark hair, a moustache, multiple earrings, big chunky silver rings on most fingers, big chunky silver chain around his neck, tatts down his arms…… he looks rough and he has that really typical big, round truckies stomach thing going on that is often barely covered by his unbuttoned high visability work shirt much to the factory manager’s chagrin.

So you can imagine my amusement a minute later as I’m sitting on the middle of the bridge waiting for the trafficย  lights to change and glance up just in time to see this fella hop out of his truck, and start running up the centreline of the road towards me. As I wind down my window he throws a piece of paper into the car, says “check this” and runs back to his truck. I’m just about pissing myself laughing as it was so unexpected both to have someone do that AND to watch this guy running anywhere!

The piece of paper? His Chrisco order for next year. Lots of seafood and beer! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comments

1. Anja - November 21, 2008

could have been worse. It could have been his Avon order.

but you know that wouldn’t have surprised me either! lmao ~ B

2. Frogdancer - November 21, 2008

Sounds like a friendly place you live in!!

it can be ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol ~ B

3. Trish - November 21, 2008

Every day needs a hearty laugh and someone to stop traffic.

LMAO!! Very true, very true! ~ B

4. kaylee - November 21, 2008

JEEZ!!!!!!!!!!

5. Jayne - November 21, 2008

LOL

6. trishatruly - November 21, 2008

Wow! I’m not sure how I would have reacted to a big, hairy, tattooed trucker stopping his rig in traffic and running toward me! You sure are calm! ๐Ÿ™‚

I was too busy laughing to be anything but! lol ~ B

7. Pure Evyl - November 21, 2008

Is the Mullet still a viable hairdo? Perhaps Billy Ray Cyrus would like to move there, better keep that info under wraps. I checked out the Alcohol pack. I have never heard of Cougar Bourbon and Coke. I wonder if it is drank by actual Cougars. I always thought that they were partial to wine.

I dunno about the cougars drinking cougar, but if there are no woodstocks available it will do in a pinch. ~ B

8. Naomi - November 21, 2008

Phew! I was wondering if it was going to be a ‘call me if you want a shag’ note… ๐Ÿ˜€

Evyl – Cougar, so called because the aftermath of drinking it feels a little like a cougar ripping its claws through your gut… ๐Ÿ˜‰

lol – That wouldn’t have surprised me either. Wouldn’t be the first proposition I’d gotten from him ~ B

9. river - November 21, 2008

Huh?? What?? Why do you need to know what he’s ordered from Chrisco? I tried Chrisco for a couple of years and they’re okay, but…,in each hamper I oh so carefully chose, there were just too many items that I don’t eat/use and had to give away. For example, I buy the Biscuit hamper and the Italian hamper. These boost my pantry contents and give me enough pasta and biscuits to last almost the whole of the next year. But some of the pasta sauces are flavours I don’t like so I have no use for them, (luckily other family members will eat anything.) Ditto other hamper contents. So I started putting away each week the amount that would have gone to Chrisco and use it in December to do my christmas grocery shopping. This way I only get items that I really want. Win Win. For me anyway. Big loss to Chrisco.

Cos I’m his agent and apparently he’s not capable of putting his order in the pre-addressed, post paid envelope that came with the order form and sending his completed order in himself. lol We’ve been steadily ordering less food stuffs from Chrisco over the past few years. We are horrible at savings though so still use it to boost the pantry for the holidays ahead and don’t generally find too many products that we don’t use. ~ B

10. Dorothy Stahlnecker - November 22, 2008

You made me laugh…aren’t husbands predictable…

Great post.

Dorothy from grammology
grammology.com

huh? I don’t understand what that had to do with my husband. ~ B


Sorry comments are closed for this entry