jump to navigation

Snow!! August 13, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Funny Stuff, Holidays, Hubby.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I know, I know, snow isn’t that big a deal……… unless you are me – a 35 year old women who has never seen snow falling before.

My only occasions to have seen snow were mum showing us a mat covered in icy stuff that frankly looked like someone had tipped over the remains of shaved ice from an esky and dirty piles of leftover white stuff on the side of the road on our way through the mountains one time.

Sunday was the first time I had seen snow falling. It was the first time I had stood in snow falling. It was the first time I had been in a vehicle driving over fresh snow. It was the first time I had seen with my own eyes a snow covered field. The images on the telly do not do it justice.

It was so pretty! And I was completely captivated!

My husband of course, was pissing himself laughing at me running around at our first stop in winds strong enough to push me over trying to catch snow on my scarf to take photos for the kids!

But he soon became caught up in my enthusiasm over my new experience and was pulling up for me to wind down my window and stick my hands out or pointing out shots he thought I should take photos of or whatnot too.

We don’t get snow locally you see. It gets cold enough to snow, but at a mere 294m, our town is simply too low. Frost, fog, mini tornadoes, gale force winds, heat waves, hail, flood, drought, we get many other weather phenomena, but not snow. And our family tended to spend holidays at the beach or in warmer climates when I was a kid.

Next challenge is to take the kids to see snow before they are 35!

Comments

1. widdleshamrock - August 13, 2008

Wow, your snow is FAR FAR better than the snow we had.

That’s awesome.

2. Jayne - August 13, 2008

They’re pretty pictures.
Haven’t seen/ been in proper snow falling weather – unless you count the stuff that melts before it hits the ground lol.
So you’ll just have to postpack some down in an esky ,ok ? 😛

3. Bettina - August 13, 2008

WS – what happened to your snow you got?

Jayne – we sometimes get the stuff that melts before it hits the ground too, but that’s it.

4. Gemisht - August 13, 2008

Snow truly is magical, especially when its falling. I understand your excitement and glad that PSLS got with the moment.

I know that for those that live with it for almost half the year it does cause problems (cause I lived that too in Canada) but for me I don’t think that it will ever lose the magic.

Next on the agenda – a snowball fight 🙂

5. Anja - August 13, 2008

It’s white, it’s wet, it’s cold.

6. Bettina - August 13, 2008

Gem – I can see how it would be a pain in the arse for those who live with it, but yeah, it was cool! Shall do the snowball fight thing when we take the kids (before they are 35) lol

Anja – I got wetter from getting caught in the hail (which worked its way into my hair and melted)

7. Pure Evyl - August 13, 2008

It rarely snows here as well. When it does, I always have to make a big bowl of snow ice cream. Crazee Tastee!!!

8. Bettina - August 13, 2008

Evyl – as long as you don’t make it from yellow snow!! 😛

9. Dina - August 13, 2008

We don’t have a lot of snow here. About one small snowfall a year. Jack gets so excited.

I spent part of my childhood up north where there was TONS of snow.

It was fun. Sledding and snowball fights. Trying to build igloos.

I loved it.

10. Bettina - August 13, 2008

I have a friend who lives in Oberon who says that every time it snows all the “for sale” signs around town disappear. The kids use them for sliding down the hills!

11. frogpondsrock - August 13, 2008

Now that my dear is simply spectacular snow… Yay….

12. river - August 13, 2008

I had some mental fun picturing you running around catching snowflakes and taking photos. Was it sparkly in the sunshine?

13. Bettina - August 13, 2008

Kim – thanks. I’m still grateful that it wasn’t my laundry though 😉

River – lol It wasn’t sunshiny where the snow was.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry