jump to navigation

Revolutionising Resolutions January 3, 2009

Posted by Mistress B in Ramblings.
trackback

I hate New Years Resolutions.

Truly.

I don’t do them.

Don’t see the point in setting myself up for failure by resolving to accomplish a certain thing or list of things this year so I only do anti resolutions.

I think it’s good to have goals, things to work towards, but resolutions just seem…… well, not for me.

I do do some thing at the beginnings of most new years though and make myself a wish list.

My wish list might be things that I want to buy over the year or do or things that I’d like to try or learn.

This year’s wish list is about making our home more comfortable and continuing to look at self sufficiency.

To buy –

  • a lounge with chaise
  • dining chairs
  • chest of drawers for kid’s rooms
  • shelving for all kid’s rooms
  • desk for Miss Lou’s room
  • good desk chairs for everyone’s desks
  • new bed linens for my bed
  • extra outdoor furniture for entertaining

Most of the furniture we’ll be able to get from hubby’s work – all locally produced…….. which fits in nicely with one of ‘To Try’s’

To Do –

  • continue with our backyard vege garden to grow more of our own produce
  • build a small hothouse for propagating seeds/seedlings
  • investigate and buy suitable fruit trees
  • to sell some of my jewellery
  • to help Miss Lou settle back in
  • to help TJ improve his language skills
  • to help CJ settle in to high school and develop good study habits
  • to continue looking at ways to lower our living costs and utilise our finances better
  • to help my mother document, record and put together the things she has collected re our family history in a format that pleases her

To Try –

  • to purchase more of our household goods and groceries locally
  • to buy organically made goods/produce where practical/possible
  • to recycle more and reduce our household waste
  • to make more of our own snacks/biscuits/treats/gifts/etc
  • to make more of our own clothes
  • to make my first quilt

To Learn –

  • how to use my over-locker to it’s potential
  • how to build and maintain my own website (coming soon)

So there you have it. The things that I’ll be aiming towards this coming year. What are you going to be aiming for?

Comments

1. leechbabe - January 3, 2009

Ooooh make a quilt, I’m looking forward to reading about that one and seeing pictures of the finished quilt.

2. dancingwithfrogs - January 3, 2009

I like the idea of the list you have. Much better than the standard resolutions.

3. Jayne - January 3, 2009

I’m aiming for getting out of my pj’s and dressing gown before midday this year πŸ˜›
Like your list of goals, much more sensible than resolutions πŸ˜‰

4. anja - January 3, 2009

As I’ve done my new year drinking a little later than everyone I dare not make a list. Yours is good, B.

Productive people exhaust me and when is it going to stop snowing on ze blog?

5. jeanie - January 3, 2009

I am all for goals this year rather than resolutions – and I am going to do so ad hoc rather than a set date…

6. Trish - January 3, 2009

I am only having good intentions and it is the thought that counts right !
I will keep it short …

TO buy a new camera and learn how to use it.(for personal development)

To learn MYOB (business)

tO DO – less cleaning and I so want A MAID …. but it aint happening so I guess I’ll just have to celebrate will I clean or learn that the dust and sticky floor will wait.
I have a heap of small stuff but that is blogable in the next week or whenever I get to it.

7. Trish - January 3, 2009

I meant to say I love calling it the wish list !

8. river - January 3, 2009

My to do list starts off with Get washing machine properly repaired. It’s been almost six years and parts of it are STILL held together with cable ties.

9. Wendy - January 3, 2009

I have promised MissN I will finish her quilt. (I finished the blocks too many years ago..)

My goals are
more sewing
more exercise (not difficult lol)
more time with God

NOT in that order!

10. Alison - January 4, 2009

Love the idea of a wish list. I don’t do resolutions either – Why start something that I know I’ll just end up feeling guilty about not finishing? And why wait 365 days to change something I don’t like when I can change it today?
I resolve not to make any bloody resolutions! (Can I do that?)
Alison

P.S. Hi πŸ™‚ Found you via Trish.

11. Pure Evyl - January 4, 2009

I am going to work at embracing my inner manho.

12. picklebums - January 5, 2009

great list of great things… here’s to ahcieving them all!!
I am aiming for Balance… it’s my catch phrase for 2009…. even if I fall off while trying to achieve it!

13. Lightening - January 5, 2009

Great list Miss B and a great way of looking at the New Year. Here’s to an awesome 2009! πŸ™‚


Sorry comments are closed for this entry