jump to navigation

Menu Plan Monday on Tuesday Complete with Screw Ups! October 21, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Blogging stuff, Menu Planning, Ramblings.
Tags: ,
trackback

Yeah, it’s Tuesday, but I was still catching up on my sleep yesterday after Sunday morning’s 4am start. Seriously, I am allergice to 4am.

Now with the commencement of summer sport and brigade shifting it’s training night our routine has to change a little. We are now home on Mondays, at Swimming Club on Tuesday evenings, brigade on Wednesday evenings, Little Athletics on Thursday afternoons and home on Friday/Saturday/Sundays. So Tuesday’s tea needs to be light but portable, Wednesdays easy and early, and Thursdays easy and preferably premade so that we just need to dish up when we get home.

Monday – last night we had fish, mash, peas and corn

Tuesday -Chicken Salad bowls with a bread roll

Wedneday – Home made hamburgers

Thursday –  Salad and leftover chicken /hamburger patties

Friday – Spag Bol

Saturday -BBQ

Sunday -Chicken Burgers with potato wedges

You can head over to Laura’s at Organising Junkie to get more Menu Plan Monday ideas.

Now the screw up that is annoying the crap out of me at the moment is that I cannot, for the life of me, find my blue recipe folder that I stick all our family favourites and pulled-out-of-magazines-to-try recipes in which I’m thinking counts for my screw up Tuesday revelation for this week.

So how about you?

Anything worth sharing?

Comments

1. Pure Evyl - October 21, 2008

So what’s on the ‘que? Road kill or what?

Usually sausages, steak, chicken pieces – whatever I pick up on special this week plus lots of vege like zuchinni, carrot, beans, onion, spuds, capsicum etc ~ B

2. Prizetastic - October 21, 2008

I am SO SO very unorganised when it comes to dinner. I hate having to think of what to cook every night. My kids used to be SO VERY fussy, but now I just make them eat whats there. They have to have a bite of everything on their plates at least. It’s making my job easier.

I lack creativity in the kitchen and am stuck with a fussy husband 😦 My goal is to find some great recipes that can become family favourites… I think I might have to stalk some food blogs for a while….

Menu Plan Monday definately sounds like something I need to get happening around here!!!

Menu planning takes all the hate out of having to figure out what to have every night. It also means that tea is on the table at the same time every night because I’m not stuffing around trying to come up with ideas on the spur of the moment or hoping that my hubby will cook if I put it off long enough lol ~ B

3. Trish - October 21, 2008

It’s not you it’s me … but that Chocolate dream bar has been giving me heaps of SU’s.
I ahve not done MPM for a while … it’s hard coming up with dinner from scratch most nights.

It’s one of those things you have to watch carefully, but once your perfect the timing you’re right.

I hate the nightly “what’s for tea” thing, which is why the whole menu planning thing really works for me. ~ B

4. river - October 21, 2008

I took my magazine recipes folder and emptied it into the bin. I’d had it for almost a year and never tried any of the recipes, so out they went. Then I took my favourite recipe binder, retyped all the recipes that I use, ditched the rest and now I’m left with about 14 of our favourite main meals, a few side dishes and 10 desserts, 4 cakes, several biscuit recipes and one party punch recipe. There are other things I make without needing a recipe, but I’ve decided overall to stop tearing pages out of magazines in the vain hope that I might one day try them.

I do actually try my new recipes though. There were a few of them that had turned into regularly used/family favourites. Ah well, I’m sure it will show up when I’m looking for something else lol ~ B

5. planningqueen - October 21, 2008

It is so great that the weather is better now and we can use the BBQ a lot more.

Yes. I tend to use the BBQ a lot during hot weather so we aren’t heating up the house more with cooking. ~ B

6. widdleshamrock - October 22, 2008

I emailed you my screw up. 😉

Wish we could do BBQs up here.

Something I have started doing is cooking enough for 2 meals. It is saving on waste for leftovers. So far so good.

I have foil containers that I can put food into that is leftover to pop in the freezer – we use them for travelling meals for PSLS. ~ B


Sorry comments are closed for this entry