jump to navigation

Why I hate August. August 1, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Ramblings.
trackback

August signals the beginning of the insanely busy period of my year. August, September, October………. for those three months of the year I am lucky to find a spare moment to scratch myself.

Training season is is full swing for the RFS. This month I am spending 3  weekends away doing RFS stuff. One weekend at a community education forum in Goulburn, one weekend doing a communications course in Dubbo and one weekend attending the Region West exercise at Lake Burrendong. Next month we have two fund raising jobs taking up two weekends, a four wheel driving course, open day and the start of an advanced firefighter course accounting for all but one of my weekends and October is filling up fast with two weekends accounted for already! Not to mention our normal brigade training, preperation for the start of the fire season, and our AGM.

September also sees the wind up of winter sports, which coincidentally also means starting to prepare for summer sports. So there will be enrolment days to assist at for Little Athletics and getting back into the swing of adding in extra weekday activities to our routine and the pool will reopen sometime in there so we will be fitting in pool time too.

And it would seem that half our damn family have birthdays in September/October. There are 6 of them (not counting exes or scumbags). One is PSLS and one is CJ’s. Oh and we mustn’t forget out big ten year wedding anniversary this year – also in September!

Last year, I think we ended up with two free weekends over the whole 3 month period.

This year is looking much the same.

I’m tired just thinking about it!

Comments

1. Dina - August 1, 2008

We’ve had September/October/Novembers like that.

Super busy.

But for us it’s Autumn and for you it’s Spring.

I still find that delightful.

I’m silly.

2. Anja - August 1, 2008

My eyes protested wildly while reading that. Damn, that’s a manic schedule.

3. widdleshamrock - August 1, 2008

We have birthdays and anniversaries from June to December.

I am tired just reading your schedule too.

4. Jayne - August 1, 2008

Lordy, that’s exhausting!
But I suppose it’s one way to keep you out of mischief 😛

5. Bettina - August 1, 2008

This time of year I tend to avoid most mid week things that I might normally do while the kids are at school or whatnot so that we get some down time. One of the advantages of PSLS’s irregular schedule – we sometimes have our weekend mid week! 😉

6. leechbabe - August 1, 2008

But But But! My birthday is in August! How can you not love the month I was born. :: Pout::

November and December are our evil months. One birthday every week from the last weekend October through to the end of November. December has two birthdays each week, plus our wedding anniversary and Christmas (which I’m hosting this year :sigh:).

So I will forgive you not loving August because I don’t love December.

7. Bettina - August 1, 2008

I shall love it just a little then in honour of you Marita! lol

8. Kin - August 1, 2008

I’m starting to feel that way too.

I am down to 9 free days in August already. 9!!!.

Our birthday’s start in October and go through to December.

9. river - August 1, 2008

Mine and hubby’s birthdays are both in August so we like the month. The rest of the family (mine anyway) has birthdays from November to March, 12 of them. (there were 14,but my parents ahve both died), then one lonely birthday in June.
I’m glad I don’t have your schedule.

10. Frendzz - August 2, 2008

hi friend ur blog seems to be good .. i ve started my blog just now so my friend i want u to visit my website frequently nd post some comments which ll be helpful to me pal and if u wish add as a friend of urs nd of sure I ll be visiting ur website daily ….. my website name s http://frendzz.com


Sorry comments are closed for this entry