jump to navigation

More ‘P’ December 22, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Family, Goals, Kids, Parenting.
trackback

I left something off my ‘P’  list yesterday ………….

Piano

I learnt piano for a while as a child, my kids are learning piano now.

TJ’s reading has shown a dramatic improvement since he started. Music is all about patterns after all as is reading. CJ loves her music and will be starting grade work early next term. Miss Lou will be restarting lessons next term as well after a long break because the freak didn’t consider that kind of thing terribly important or beneficial.

We used to go practice at mum’s or on the electric keyboard with weighted keys that I bought for at home but no longer. We were one of the families that received the government’s ‘save the economy’ bonus – so we chose to invest it in our kids rather than spoiling them for Christmas and bought this –

dsc00086

Isn’t it lovely?

It’s a 1924 J Schiller of Berlin piano.

dsc00092

It has a lovely sound and the kids are really enjoying playing on it.

Comments

1. anja - December 22, 2008

What a lovely instrument. That’s a wonderful investment for the kids.

2. Jayne - December 22, 2008

Oooooooo that gorgeous, B, 🙂

3. Riayn - December 22, 2008

Congratulations on your new piano! What a wonderful thing to spend your Christmas bonus from the government on.

I learnt piano as a kid and even though there was times I hated it, I am really glad I stuck with it. I just wish I had room in my house for a piano as it is so relaxing to play a few tunes when you are feeling stressed.

4. river - December 22, 2008

It’s a beautiful piano. I’m not at all musical and I do so wish I was. I like to sing, but others don’t like to hear me……

5. guera - December 22, 2008

What a great way to spend the bonus money. I learned piano as a kid and we have a family piano that will go in my house once I have space for it. I’d love my girls to learn it.

6. widdleshamrock - December 23, 2008

OOooo, it has arrived !!!!

I love the piano and believe it is the basis to be able to learn any instrument.

And yes, music is very orderly and structured and patterns. Celtic Lad has taken to it like a duck to water.

7. dancingwithfrogs - December 23, 2008

David has his own piano in his room. It looks very like yours, but ours has candle sconces on it. Handy if we have a blackout and David has an urgent need to play.

That’s a good use of the $$$$. I put half onto the mortgage and I’ve left the rest sitting in the bank for the moment. I don’t think we’ll ever see a handout like this again, so I don’t want to waste it!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

