jump to navigation

Damaged December 4, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Gardening, Our Home.
trackback

So last Friday while I was beginning my fight down the Parramatta Rd, back home a wild storm was ripping through town leaving a trail of damage in it’s wake.

photo0653There are tree branches down all over town. One particular road looked like a bomb hit it with debri and branches covering the roadside for half a kilometre.

We even copped some damage at home this time

dsc00117

What you see here are the fallen remains of a garden arch that we were planning on growing our passionfruit vine on.

Our mulberry tree also copped a good battering

dsc00120along with a couple of trees out the front that lost branches or were split by the fierce winds.

My hot boxes for seedling raising were knocked for six and their contents spread over the carport floor.

Still it could have been worse.  At least there was no damage to our house.

Comments

1. anja - December 4, 2008

Yeah, the most important thing, your house wasn’t damaged.

2. Alexis - December 4, 2008

Yikes! I’m glad you’re all safe!

3. Jayne - December 4, 2008

That was savage, glad nothing, and nobody, was hurt!

4. Naomi - December 4, 2008

Cripes – nasty storms all over the place, aren’t there? Glad to hear there wasn’t more damage – but sorry bout the garden arch 😦

5. Dina - December 4, 2008

Sorry that happened to you guys. Storms can be really scary!

6. river - December 4, 2008

I love gale force winds, but I don’t like the damage they do to built up areas. I’m glad you only had minor damage, easily repaired.

7. Trish - December 4, 2008

I hope you can recover from the damage- it must be very disappointing to come home to this.

8. trishatruly - December 5, 2008

Storms like that hit here quite often in early summer. I’m awfully glad no one was hurt and your home is all good.
Sorry I haven’t been by more. I am so far behind on my reading I may never catch up . I expect the holidays will make it even harder but I promise to try harder to visit more often. You are one of my favorite bloggers!!

9. leechbabe - December 8, 2008

Nasty. I’m glad no one was hurt and your house wasn’t damaged.

10. Talia - December 8, 2008

I love the idea of the arch for the passionfruit to go on… pity it got blown down!! Hopefully nothing else like this happens, so you can put it up and not worry about it!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

