jump to navigation

Simple Pleasures Sunday November 2, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Funny Stuff, Gardening, Goals, TJ.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

So yesterday evening we got out in the garden and harvested some of our produce

I was very pleased to be able to cart a bucketful of veges back down to my kitchen

TJ was quite fascinated with the whole project. It’s one thing for me to try to explain what grows under ground and how, but quite another to him to be able to actually see them being dug up

He kept exclaiming in wonder how ‘FRESH!’ everything smelt. lol

I reckon we ended up with nearly a kilo of onions, 3 kilos of spuds, a kilo of carrots and 6 good heads of cauliflower plus a couple of punnets of berries yesterday. Not bad at all

And no chemicals, no transporting, no cold storage, no nothing

Comments

1. Dina - November 2, 2008

That is AWESOME!!!

Isn’t it!! 🙂 ~ B

2. dancingwithfrogs - November 2, 2008

It’s satisying, isn’t it?

Very, very satisfying. ~ B

3. Guera - November 2, 2008

That is very impressive! 🙂

I thought so! 🙂 ~ B

4. brissiemum2 - November 2, 2008

Yum! The best type of veges….no cold storage for six months before sale!

And they tasted better too! ~ B

5. leechbabe - November 2, 2008

Oooh all that yummy produce. Great work.

Thanks 🙂 ~ B

6. rhubarb - November 2, 2008

I am so with you. Nothing beats home grown fresh veggies.

Nothing except having someone else cook them for me 😉 lol ~ B

7. Widdle Shamrock - November 2, 2008

WOW !!!!!! Fantastic.

TJ is just GORGEOUS !!!!!

It was such a typical look for him too lol ~ B

8. Louisa - November 2, 2008

Hi Bettina, visiting from WTBAY! Your veges are so impressive! I will tell my husband who is starting a vege patch at our place – he’ll be inspired no doubt!

Thanks Louisa. I hope your husband has a lot of success with his patch too. ~ B

9. Jayne - November 2, 2008

That is a fantastic haul, Bettina, well done 😀

Thanks Jayne. We are very impressed with ourselves lol and today we collected a plate full of snow peas~ ~ B

10. Alexis - November 3, 2008

Fantastic!

11. Pure Evyl - November 3, 2008

Those berries look kick ass.

12. jeanie - November 3, 2008

Oooh – excuse me while I just wilt from cauliflower envy up here – we tried and have admitted defeat after our spread out sporadic head gave such disappointment.

I am very very very impressed!!

13. magneto bold too - November 3, 2008

Ooooooh! Lightly steam that cauli, chuck it in some cumin and coriander and quickly fry in a frypan with some ghee and I am on my way over babe!

14. river - November 3, 2008

Very impressive. I once grew potatoes by accident. They grew from peelings thrown onto the compost heap and were the best tasting potatoes ever! At the moment my Black Russian tomato and the Red Fig also have about 6 baby tomatoes each. I can’t wait to try a Black Russian tomato, or to toss a few Red Figs into a salad.

15. Kin - November 10, 2008

Wow – I’m totally impressed. I know who I’m going to badger, I mean come to when I get serious about my veggies 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

