jump to navigation

Corn Soup September 9, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Flying, Menu Planning, recipes.
Tags:
trackback

Yeah, I know, it’s Tuesday, but I can’t be stuffed doing a screw up this week.

Be sure to pop over to Widdle Shamrocks place though and see hers – she has some doozies!

So instead, due to popular demand (well demand by Naomi and Anja anyhow), corn soup!

You ready for this?

1 litre of chicken or vegetable stock

1 tin creamed corn

1 handful of whatever noodles you have on hand

1 beaten egg

Chuck the first three in a saucepan and heat till it starts to thicken. Pour in the egg while stirring. Serve with a bread roll.

That’s it!

We prefer short angel hair noodles in ours, sometimes I add shredded chicken if we have leftovers, or I add veges (or both). I’ve put in whole corn kernels, peas, finely diced onion, grated zucchini, whatever you like will go in it.

The manager at the school canteen makes her stock from a 27 cent chicken noodle soup packet. My lot prefer it made with liquid stock, but you know, whatever tickles your fancy is fine.

The egg at the end really makes it thicken up quite nicely, so you don’t need to keep heating it very long at all after you’ve added that or you’ll need to add more water.

There you have it.

Bon Appétit!

Comments

1. Jayne - September 9, 2008

Ohhh that sounds soooooooooo delicious right now I’m going to get The Spouse to make me some of Mistress B’s corn soup 🙂

2. Bettina - September 9, 2008

Mistress B’s Corn Soup…………. perhaps I should register that as a trademark! lol

3. widdleshamrock - September 9, 2008

Yum yum, sound delish.

What with that and the vege garden, me thinks I will come back for visit again.

4. Bettina - September 9, 2008

Anytime my dear green one, anytime 🙂

5. Dina - September 9, 2008

Sounds easy and delicious–the kind of recipe I like ; )

6. Trish - September 10, 2008

oh this sounds yummo. I even have shredded BBQ chook to go in it …see ya!

7. Trish - September 10, 2008

oops thanks I needed an idea for dinner tonight or just a snack for me.

8. writerchick - September 11, 2008

Sounds yummy, I’ll have to try it.
Annie

9. Bettina - September 11, 2008

Dina – yes, very simple and delicious

Trish – lol you’re welcome! I have even made this up and frozen one person size portions for the kids to reheat for after school snacks.

Annie – it is yummy. 🙂

10. Dina - September 11, 2008

I made the soup last night!!!

This is the first time I’ve ever used a recipe off a blog!

11. Bettina - September 12, 2008

lol!!

but did you like it?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

