jump to navigation

Serendipity August 29, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Family, In Laws, Ramblings.
trackback

to borrow a term from Widdle Shamrock

Last year when I was anaemic and having lots of back pain I found myself forced to SLOW DOWN.

I was physically unable to do all the things I had been doing. All events outside the home were severely curtailed and once I stopped fighting what was happening and accepted that SLOWING DOWN was what I needed to do, I started to enjoy it.

I had the chance to sort out the things that were really important to me and actually had the energy to do them because I wasn’t also doing half a dozen other things that I thought we *should* be doing.

And I’m enjoying it. I don’t want to go back to running from pillar to post all the time again.

This week with PSLS’s nan staying with us has bought to our attention some extra responsibilities that we’ll need to take on with her moving to town. We need to help with Nan’s care. Uncle S needs the support and help and after years of struggling on his own, he needs some respite.

My mum said to me this morning ‘See, this is why you had to slow down last year or you wouldn’t have the time or energy needed to help with Nan now’.

She could be onto something…………

A couple of years ago I was studying welfare and found myself having to complete an assignment where I had to interview persons working for different services and complete a profile of the service they were working for. Our town has a lot of services for aged people. I made a lot of good contacts through the interview process. Contacts that I still use from time to time when arranging some brigade community events. Contacts that will come in very handy for organising support services for helping with Nan’s care.

It’s getting spooky

Then add in my father’s diagnosis with diabetes and my sis in laws gestational diabetes and we have other close family members with the same medical problem, all having experience with the medications and figuring out the dietary stuff. Uncle S is feeling a lot more confident that we’ll get a handle on Nan’s diet soon now knowing that there is a whole group of us figuring this stuff out and not just him.

Sometimes when things like this happen I am reminded of Shep asking Jillian in ‘By The Light Of The Moon’ (Dean Koontz) if she can feel the ’round and round of all that is’ – events, stages, phases of life. They all seem to go round and round and interact with each other in  big continuous circles that are ever changing but always fit together somehow.

Comments

1. Jayne - August 29, 2008

Yep, everything is meant for a reason and is interconnected with everything else.
Scary! 😉

2. Gemisht - August 29, 2008

Like Jayne said, everything happens for a reason. We just don’t know the reason at the time.

I hope that you get everything sorted out for your Nan, and Uncle S too, sounds like he will enjoy having some support too. And a bit of a load taken off his shoulders.

3. wjcsydney - August 29, 2008

Bettina, awesome post. Romans 8:28.

4. widdleshamrock - August 29, 2008

Wow, I went goose bumpy on reading this and it isn’t cold !!!!

You continue to amaze me .

5. Pure Evyl - August 29, 2008

To everything turn turn turn.

Now I sound like an old hippie tune.

6. writerchick - August 29, 2008

I think you’re right – things happen for a reason, often we don’t know why right away but they do reveal themselves to us, eventually don’t they? I think slowing down sounds rather nice, actually.
WC

7. Anja - August 29, 2008

Which one of us is the…?

8. leechbabe - August 29, 2008

That is freaky coincidence!

9. tiff - August 31, 2008

I honestly believe in serendipity. Your post just solidifies it.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

