jump to navigation

Screw Up Tuesday August 26, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Family, Funny Stuff, In Laws.
trackback

Yes it is once again that time of the week where you all confess what fuck ups you are so that I don’t feel lonely cos we all know how good I am at putting my foot in my mouth, being a clutz or just generally making a mess of things.

Yesterday I got hijacked again. Nan and Uncle S showed up hours earlier than what I was expecting and I hadn’t done any of the things I was planning to do before they got here. Nan was staying with us last night so that she had a comfortable place to be and someone to look after her while Uncle S and PSLS got an early start on their move this morning. Nan is in a wheelchair or needing to use a walker most of the time, so I was planning on shifting some furniture and tidying up some crap the kids had left in the living room and up the hallway before she got here so that everything was ready. I also needed to move the bed over a bit in the room she’d be using to make it easier for her to move around in the room and remake the bed.

Silly me, feeling a bit overtired yesterday morning, went back to bed after the kids went to school thinking that I had all afternoon to do my chores for the day. Big mistake. I ended up spending the afternoon at the local club playing the poker machines, doing a tenant property inspection and visiting with old friends of Nan’s instead!

Then the kids and I had a mad rush to get done everything that needed to be done when we arrived home at 5:30 yesterday afternoon! So, there has been no homework done, no piano practice done, no reading done, no lunches premade, no bags prepacked for the next day ARGH!!!

And the poker machines!! My god!! I’d never make a good poker machine player. Nan put $20 in the machine and we were all taking turns pressing the button. I spun up a special feature bonus whatchamacallitthingy and won a $55 jackpot. At this stage were were ahead to the tune of $75.  Me? I would have taken the winnings and gone to the restaurant for a nice leisurely lunch for the afternoon. Them? They kept playing and playing and playing till it was all gone. I suppose in the scheme of things $20 is pretty cheap entertainment for 3 people for 2 hours, but SHEESH!! I just can’t throw away money like that!

Anyhow, got anything to share this week?

Leave me a comment and I’ll add your link to my honour roll. 😉

widdle Shamrock

Anja

Oirish Lad

Jeanie

Comments

1. Frogdancer - August 26, 2008

I agree with you about the pokies. I can’t physically put money in those things.

2. Anja - August 26, 2008

I’ve never seen the sense in pokies.

3. Jayne - August 26, 2008

Can’t stand the pokies, they’ve killed off the live band scene here in Melbourne and ruined many a great pub.
As The Whitlams say “Blow up the pokies” 😛

4. widdleshamrock - August 26, 2008

I always have something to share, lol.

Yeah, pokies aren’t my thing either.

5. Screw Up Tuesday « The musings of a green knee capping leprechaun - August 26, 2008

[…] Mistress Bettina thought of Screw Up Tuesday, as a way to laugh at other people laugh with each other at those little oopsies that otherwise we could end up stewing over. […]

6. Anja - August 26, 2008

Jayne! I’m so singing that at the moment!

Mine’s up.

7. jeanie - August 26, 2008

lol – my post is sort of a screw up – more a screech.

And yes – pokies are fun if you know how to walk away (and set a detonator)

8. oirishlad - August 26, 2008

Hey, Bettina. Come to An Irish Lad’s Diary and see my 2 Screw Ups.

9. Pure Evyl - August 26, 2008

Poker machines have to have the worst damn payoff of any gambling device.

10. river - August 26, 2008

I put a dollar into a pokie machine once. Lost the dollar and walked away. On the machine right next to me my daughter put in a dollar, won $100, also walked away. To the nearest shoe shop. Girl’s got her head on straight.

11. leechbabe - August 26, 2008

I’ve never gotten the whole pokie thing. Much rather eat my money (well technically spend it one something I will then eat 😀 )

12. Maddy - September 2, 2008

Well this looks like just the thing for me [followed from Stuff with Thing] Although I wouldn’t necessarily limit myself to Tuesdays! I could post that one every day.
Best wishes


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

