jump to navigation

Today’s the Day! July 18, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Ramblings.
trackback

Today widdle Shamrock arrives in Sydney.

And we are going to meet, face to face for the first time.

And Anja too.

We’ve all been online friends for years and years. We’ve shared so much, know each other so well, but have never physically met.

There are many who would scoff at an online friendship. Who would think that it is internet foolishness and not “real”.

I would scoff at them for their ignorance.

Online friendships begin much as normal ones do, with people who have things in common hanging out at the same places. They join in conversations and discover that they share the same humour as someone else or think along similar lines or that they have things in common that are happeningin their lives. They start to seek each other out, spend more time with each other, talk more to each other, they share, they start to confide and the friendship grows.

The difference is where these connections are made and the conversations take place. The connections are made online in internet chatrooms, forums, groups, blogs, social networking sites. The conversations are had on message boards, instant messengers, chat servers, tweets, twitters, plurks, blog posts, photo’s, email and webcams or VoiP.

They share their jokes, their thoughts, their ups and downs. Their struggles and triumphs. Their joys and sadness. Bonds are formed, emotions invested and it isn’t something that you can just turn off when you turn off the pc.

Before you know it phone calls are made, txts are sent and presents/cards/letters are winging their way around the world in the name of friendship.

Sure, not all people who connect with others online make friends. They chat and are friendly, but they don’t get so involved or attached. But there are people who interact with others in their “real life” like that too.

Sure, there are some spooky, freaky people on the world wide web and you need to be careful, but there are people like that in “real life” that you need to be wary of too. People that you wouldn’t share everything with, that you would watch what you said to, that you wouldn’t trust as far as you could kick.

And sure, there are people who get so caught up online that they manage to (whether by intent or accident) avoid or escape their real lives, but there are just as many for whom their online life is their best or even only link to the outside world because of their circumstances or lack of social ability or a myriad of other reasons.

That doesn’t make the friendships formed any less real, the emotions involved any less intense, the attachments made any less valid, the support given or received any less uplifting. The bonds are just as strong as if formed face to face.

There is after all, a real person on the other end of the internet, sitting at their keyboard. A real person with real emotions and real life experiences who is wanting/willing to share them with you.

I’m so excited to finally get to physically meet some of the people who mean the most to me, who know me better than any of my “real life” friends, who are family I have never held.

I can’t wait!

Comments

1. widdleshamrock - July 18, 2008

Awwww B, I feel like crying !!!!!

That’s beautiful.

Just a few more hours.

AAAARRRGGGGHHHHH !!!!!!!!

2. Leigh - July 18, 2008

Hope you girls have a fab time! It’s great meeting the wonderful friends you have met online πŸ˜€

3. Dina - July 18, 2008

That is so beautiful and true!!!!!

I wish I could print that out and hand it to people who make snidecomments about Internet relationships.

You’re awesome.

Thank you.

4. Lisa Black - July 18, 2008

I hope you all have heaps of fun… I know I met some great people when I came to syd this year.

now dont drink too much… coffee that is, and remember to sleep..

5. Jayne - July 18, 2008

I know the 3 of you will have a fabulous time πŸ˜€
My bestest mate I met online 9 years ago, we’ve met up heaps of times and have a ball.
You gals will be the same, you know each other really well already, it’s just you’re finally meeting face to face πŸ™‚

6. Frogdancer - July 18, 2008

I’m amazed that you guys haven’t ever met. I had the impression that you were childhood friends or something, you all seemed so close. You’re all going to have a fantastic time.

7. Pure Evyl - July 18, 2008

That’s cool. Hope y’all have a blast.

8. tiff - July 18, 2008

Hope you all have an amazing time together! Online friendships are very real, in fact sometimes they are better than IRL because with a screen between you, it is sometimes easier to reach out, be honest and up front.

9. scrappydo - July 18, 2008

You know that I am waaaaay jealous of WS – I’m not flexible enough to bend in the right places to take up the offer of suitcase travel! LOL

Have a fabulous time together – and make sure you each have a glass of wine for me (just the one each though…. any more than 3 and you’ll be giving me a hangover!!) πŸ˜›

10. Gemisht - July 18, 2008

This is so exciting for you. And I’m with Dina – I’d like to point a lot of people to this post or print it out for them. Some people just don’t get it do they.

I know that the three of you will have an absolute ball. Looking forward to hearing about it all – well not all of it, but some of it πŸ™‚

11. Tracey - July 18, 2008

Woo Hoo! I hope you guys have the BEST time! I’m sure you will. Don’t forget to share some of it with the rest of us!!

12. river - July 18, 2008

I hope you all have enough fun to keep us readers happy for many weeks reading about your experiences together. Nothing quite like living vicariously.

13. jeanie - July 20, 2008

Sort of your own little Syd-her, hey? I hope it was wonderful!!!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

