jump to navigation

Bumming Around July 16, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Ramblings.
trackback

A few years ago the kids and I took off for a weekend away sans PSLS.

We stayed with rellies in Wollongong and took a day trip up to Sydney. We spent a lazy day seeing the sights. We walked around the opera house, took a ferry around to Darling Harbour, went to the aquarium and generally just had a bit of a sticky beak about the place.

This is what is on the agenda at the moment too. Just bumming around. Seeing the sights. Hanging with the kids. Seeing a side of our country that we don’t experience much. City life I mean.

As a country girl, being in the city seems so crowded to me. So busy and bustling and noisy. Sydney especially has always seemed so to me. Cramped, chaotic, constantly moving and changing. I never quite feel peaceful there.

I like my wide open spaces, my unending expance of blue sky, the patterns in the paddocks as they change from yellow to green to purple and back again, being able to see the hills in the distance.

But I’ll manage for a few days.

Just me, the kids, and the city.

Bumming around.

Comments

1. widdleshamrock - July 16, 2008

I get what you mean about the whole claustraphobic thing. I can’t imagine having a neighbour smack bang outside my window.

2 MORE SLEEPS TO GO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. widdleshamrock - July 16, 2008

Say Hi to the Pope for me, grab me a free blessing if he is handing them out.

3. Naomi - July 16, 2008

Niiiiiice. I miss the wide, peaceful(ish) expanse of Sydney Harbour… ahhhh blue and purrrty… *sigh*

Have fun!! 🙂

4. Dina - July 16, 2008

I’m crazy. I love the city, but also hate crowds.

What we did is try to visit places when we know they won’t be that crowded. For example, our hotel was right near the aquarium so we’d go after dinner when there was hardly anyone there. We’d also try to arrange visits to zoos and museums on school days so we wouldn’t run into huge weekend crowds.

But I lived 5 years in NYC….so I’m part city-girl.

5. Gemisht - July 16, 2008

Depends on where you are in Sydney. The CBD is definitely busy and crowded and full on. But the ‘burbs aren’t so bad. I can see hills and lots of blue sky and its pretty quiet here too 🙂

Enjoy it for what it is rather than what it isn’t. Its not ideal but it is a great place. And I know its not where everyone chooses to live, but for me its home.

6. Pure Evyl - July 16, 2008

Hope you have a blast.

7. Jayne - July 16, 2008

Have a good one, leave the bridge where you found it 😛

8. magneto bold too - July 16, 2008

Never been to Sydney, but Melbourne CBD is my heart.

A city girl born and bred, and while I love the country for raising kids and stuff, my heart is still in the city.

Have a great time!

9. widdleshamrock - July 17, 2008

ONE MORE SLEEP B!!!!

ONE MORE SLEEP !!!!

10. scrappydo - July 17, 2008

LOL at WS 😆 I think she might be a tad excited about this little jaunt of hers!

11. widdleshamrock - July 17, 2008

What gave it away Scrapmeister ??

12. Bettina - July 17, 2008

I don’t think it’s helped lesson her excitement levels any that I’ve been txting her pics from my travels around the harbour today lol

Thanks everyone. We spent today in around Darling Harbour/Circular Quay today riding ferries and taking in the WYD events.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

