jump to navigation

My New Phone July 9, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Ramblings.
trackback

See my pretty?

It came late last week.

it’s a Samsung A412 and apparently it does just about everything except change the toilet roll. It has a camera, MP3, bluetooth, video capture, blah blah blah. The only thing it doesn’t do is video calling.

I could have gotten a phone that does video calling but we have a problem. Out here in the sticks, all phones are not created equal. I had a nice little LG picked out that I thought would do me fine and dandy, but our nearest Telstra shop ( 71km’s away) doesn’t sell it. Too many problems with it they said. It doesn’t have very good reception they said. So they gave me a choice of what phones work best in our region and the samsung was the closest to what I wanted.

Hubby wanted me to get something chunky and with more bells and whistles. He got a bit snippy when I told him no. He was wanting me to get the phone HE’D like. I see you rolling your eyes and saying ‘of course’ and you’re right. Typical male πŸ˜‰ lol. He’ll just have to wait twelve months till his current contract is up before he upgrades then can get whatever the hell he likes. Although he did like some of my extras.

It came with a bluetooth headset. A teeny tiny little earpiece that I’m sure will come in very handy when zipping about town or over to the shops in colour country. That has hubby pretty envious. He wants one of those for when he’s on the road and it doesn’t work with his phone mwahahahahaaa.

I got another added extra with the phone. A car kit.Β  This will apparently give me improved and more reliable reception when I’m trotting about the countryside. This one has hubby seething with envy. As a long distance truckie he knows all about the gaps in coverage in our nations phone network coverage and the boosted service is something he’d love to have. I just figured that it would be a good thing for when we go on family trips or when I’m gallavanting around the countryside.

Really though, I just wanted something little, and functional. Something small and flippy that would slip in my pocket and not have buttons accidently pressed if I’d forgotten to lock the damn keypad. I do have handbags, but………… I don’t always use em. I much prefer to stick things in my pockets to run about. I end up accumulating a lot less junk that way.

Comments

1. Anja - July 9, 2008

Jealous hubby. *sniggers*

They never grow out of toy envy.

2. Jayne - July 9, 2008

LOLOLOL That makes you the current winner in the “bigger and better toy war of the sexes” πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›
Very nice πŸ˜‰

3. Suze - July 9, 2008

Ahhh nothing more satisfying than making the hubby envious. Well done πŸ™‚ And noice phone btw!

4. Gemisht - July 9, 2008

bwaaaa haaaaa, poor Hubby. There is nothing quite like a bit of phone envy. We both have the same phone at the moment and its rubbish, so no phone envy here.

Enjoy playing with your new toy πŸ™‚

5. Naomi - July 9, 2008

Ooooooh… NOICE πŸ™‚

I love flip phones. I got sick of accidentally dialling emergency numbers (because they can be called even when the keypad is locked) simply by moving my handbag/stuff-carrier the wrong way.

You know what I looked for when I last bought a phone? Flip-opening, and a loud ring. That was SOOOOO hard to find. Far easier if I’d wanting video calls and TV. πŸ˜€

6. Bettina - July 9, 2008

Anja – no they never do. The size/nature of the toys is all that changes πŸ˜‰

Jayne – yes it does make me the winner doesn’t it? TAKE THAT PSLS πŸ˜†

Suze – ta hon.

Gem – I will πŸ˜‰

Naomi – yeah, I definitely wanted a flip phone no matter what hubby said. And I know what you mean about finding a phone thats a damn phone. All I wanted was flippy and customisible so that I could have my own choice of decent ringtones. The other stuff is all a bonus lol

7. Lisa Black - July 9, 2008

I’m due for a new one soon, I think its released on Friday. Yep you guessed it, its the Iphone.

Sorry, I’m a mobile phone junkie…

πŸ˜†

8. oirishlad - July 9, 2008

It’s such a nice phone.

9. nicolebeltane - July 9, 2008

i love getting new phones, always a lot of fun working out where everything is.

i ended up getting a pink Nokia 6120 classic. has video phone and i now wish it didn’t. DH works away and in a month we spent almost 1000 on video calls. i haven’t made any this month and changed the cap huge difference in the bill. Great phone though..

Had several flips over the years, the last one my niece got hold of and snapped GRRRR..

10. magneto bold too - July 9, 2008

Nice phone babe. Bonus that it makes the hubby envious…

I will pretend I didn’t read that handbag comment…

11. Trish - July 9, 2008

very nice… I prefer flip phones for same reason.Sound slike a great package you choose no wonder hubby is jealous. I’d like the car kit.

12. kin27 - July 10, 2008

Ooooh pretty!

I had a samsung (until the great hot chocolate disaster in London last year) and it was great. I do miss video calling on my new phone though.

13. planningqueen - July 10, 2008

They were a lovely sight for tired eyes!

14. leechbabe - July 11, 2008

I wish I had a phone that would change the toilet roll. Bane of my existence that toilet roll.

15. Bettina - July 12, 2008

Lisa – that’s a nice piece of technology……… bit too pricey for me though.

Oirishlad – yes it is. Thanks mate.

Nicole – My old phone is a nokia. It was a good phone, but it wasn’t flippy. Video messages may come in handy, but I think they are something we can live without for the moment……… we do have a video camera after all!

Kelley – what’s wrong with not always using a handbag? *acts all innocent*

Trish – thanks. Having reliable reception is a must when traipsing around the countryside sans hubby with kids.

Kin – I figure I won’t miss what I’ve never had πŸ˜‰

PQ – lol

Leechbabe – lmao! I actually just discovered that I can usb it to the pc and sync both of them together! Bonus!!!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

