jump to navigation

I don’t like nine. May 10, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Ramblings.
trackback

It’s official.

I don’t like nine. The age that is.

TJ turns nine in just under two weeks and already the glow of his lovely age 7 and 8 years has faded.

Seven and eight were beautiful. He was still young enough to be affectionate and compliant, but old enough to not need his arse wiped and to make himself a sandwich without creating too much mess.

Nine. I don’t like. And he’s not even quite there yet.

Gone is my funny, affectionate, willing-to-do-as-he’s-told boy. In it’s place is a surly, bossy, smart arse bundle of energy that would sooner spit or fart on me than give me a kiss.

My little boy is growing up. He’s striving for independence, desperate to do “boy” stuff and no longer wants to need his momma.

I miss my baby.

Comments

1. Darla - May 10, 2008

I miss my baby too. I don’t like 11.

2. mylittledrummerboys - May 10, 2008

– so do I … I think nine is the start of the testosterone turning point – it just starts to rev a little … then by 13-14 it is burning rubber and leaving it mark everywhere.

I miss my sweet little boy too.

3. Jayne - May 10, 2008

Can’t we just encase them in a full body plaster cast and chain them to a cot when they turn 1?
No…?
Damn.

4. anja - May 10, 2008

*sigh* But he will always love his mummy.

Damn, this motherhood caper doesn’t sound fun at all.

5. magneto bold too - May 10, 2008

Boo is nine. But really only like 4 or something. So I get tall enough so I don’t have to stoop to smother in kisses but still cute and cuddly. Yay! I knew something good would come of this! *snort*

6. Naomi - May 11, 2008

Huh. 7 and 8 were filled with whining, for me. The physical contact lessened, but the interest in card games and cooking increased. Over all I prefer 11 to 7. But then I only get my eldest part-time 😉

7. frogpondsrock - May 11, 2008

I cant remember 9. Hell I wish I couldn’t remember 13.. He is 14 next month *sigh*

but I did get the best breakfast cooked for me this morning.. mmm eggs and bacon, cooked properly.. my music was playing and my coffee was yummy..

So I will remember some parts of 13..

Happy Mothers Day

8. tiff - May 11, 2008

Nine was good to us…it’s twelve I’m not liking the sound of.

9. Talia - May 12, 2008

I remember when my brothers went through that age. It takes a while to get to the other side. And it doesn’t just bother the mother, the sister gets annoyed as well!!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

