jump to navigation

Icecream and Planes. March 5, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Funny Stuff, Housekeeping, My Brigade.
trackback

Yesterday afternoon, after school, we went shopping as we usually do on Tuedays.  We went to the butchers and bought chicken schnitzels & mince. We went to the bakery and bought a weeks worth of bread (I freeze it), and a treat each for the kids (cupcake for TJ, choc chip muffin for CJ). Then we went to Coles and did a bit of shopping. We bought, amongst other things, frozen veges, milk, orange juice and ice cream.

When we got home, I just wanted to sit for a few minutes so told the kids to just help get the cold stuff in and we’d unpack the rest a bit later. They started bringing in some of the bags then I sat down for a few minutes to take off shoes and check the mail before helping them when the pager went off. I threw on my gear, hustled the kids into the car and headed for the station.

I spent the rest of the afternoon doing this –

planefill.jpg

(I’m closest to the camera acting as the safety person. Basically it was my job to signal the fillers when it was safe to approach the plane, when the pilot said he was full to stop and to let the pilot know when the fillers were clear so he could move)

The kids spent the afternoon playing handball in the airport carpark in between watching the planes, taking photos and running up to the station to get more cold drinks for us. Though TJ was most indignant when I told him he wasn’t allowed on the airside of the fence *rolls eyes* but he got over it.

Half way through the afternoon I realised that I  hadn’t actually put any of the cold stuff in the fridge or freezer. I wandered over to the fence to see if the kids had actually put any of the stuff they brought in away either.

No such luck.

So the planes got filled and we went home to melted ice cream and soft peas.

But the planes got filled! lol

Comments

1. magneto bold too - March 5, 2008

So what sort of SHOES do you wear for that kinda thing???

Bugger about the icecream, the peas can still be used, but the icecream? Ewwwww

2. Bettina - March 5, 2008

boots Kelley. big black boots.

I shall take a pic for you.

They ain’t pretty.

lol

3. scrappydo - March 5, 2008

Bummer about the ice-cream 😦 Not even like you were home to eat it cos it couldn’t go back in the freezer. And yeah, you can still use the peas…. it’s something I have to resort to after being a little …ahhhh….”tardy” bringing them into the house! 😆

4. Casdok - March 5, 2008

Much more interesting than putting food away!

5. Bettina - March 5, 2008

yeah but icecream smishecream. I’m with Casdok – planes are much more interesting that putting food away. lol

6. Gemisht - March 5, 2008

LOL, I would choose the planes too. Putting away the shopping or hanging around the planes – meh, no option really.

7. Anja - March 6, 2008

Planes, helicopters and whacking big hoses – you guys get to have so much fun!

Although, I still prefer the pretty pink chopper that matches your love slave’s pretty pink shirt.

*waves to the love slave*

8. Bettina - March 6, 2008

He’s steadfastly refusing to bite lol

9. Hilary - March 6, 2008

Yummmm . . . melted icecream . . .

10. Anja - March 6, 2008

What if I said “I didn’t know he was a FORD man?”

11. Bettina - March 6, 2008

he follows drivers not the cars lol

12. Trish - March 7, 2008

oh not the icecream !!!
the planes look like such fun – the kids probably don’t care about the peas.
what an exciting life you lead.

13. river - June 21, 2008

Pour that melted icecream over some chopped up leftover cake or brownies and shove it back in the freezer.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

