jump to navigation

My Card Tins January 27, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Birthdays, CJ, Craft Projects, Gifts, Kids, Miss Lou, Parenting, Relationships.
trackback

I found an idea in Handmade magazine last month for a card kit as a children’s gift. I quite liked the tins they used and wanted to make one for myself to store my handmade cards in and another for Miss Lou to fill with cards for her use through the year. She isn’t terribly great at remembering other people’s special days. I’m hoping that if she has a tin of ready made cards at hand that she’ll use them.

When I was out of town shopping last week, I managed to squeeze in 15 minutes at my favourite craft supply store and found the tins used in the project so purchased two.

Today I decorated them.

This is what I started with –

dsc00624.jpg

This is my finished card tin –

dsc00629.jpg

This is Miss Lou’s finished card tin (I did it in her favourite colours – blue!) –

dsc00634.jpg

I’m quite pleased with how they have turned out. I should have got one for Miss Moo too. I’ll have to give the store a call and get them to put one away for me. I should be able to get a friend to pick it up in the next week or two.

Now to just fill Miss Lou’s with cards and send it down to her.

Comments

1. FreeFromItAll - January 28, 2008

Cute!

Do you make your own cards too?

2. Casdok - January 28, 2008

Very glam!!

3. Marita - January 28, 2008

Very pretty. I’m looking for gifts for my 16 nieces and nephews for birthdays and Christmas. The tin looks great, but would it fit into my $20 gift budget?

4. widdleshamrock - January 28, 2008

Wow, you are a talented wee cookie.

Am sure Lou will LOVE what you did for her.

5. Bettina - January 28, 2008

Yes, I make my own cards too.

The tins were $9.50 reduced from $15. The paper stock, letters, stickers, brads and ribbons i had on hand in my card making kit but those particular papers came in a kit with matching stickers/ letters/tags and some other bits and pieces that were under $5 so they would be quite do-able for under $20.

And thanks! πŸ™‚

6. Anja - January 28, 2008

They’re beautiful. And your little helper should be congratulated for his wonderful taste. πŸ™‚

7. Jayne - January 28, 2008

They look great, you’ve a good eye Bettina πŸ™‚

8. Meg - January 28, 2008

Wow, they do look good Bettina! I particularly like the blue one. I take my hat of to your creativity!

9. boneblower - January 28, 2008

Brilliant πŸ™‚

What’s the name of the store?? They are cheap tins & I’d love to get some. I’m about to start setting up my art studio for working from home & I think they’d be handy for heaps of stuff.

10. magneto bold too - January 28, 2008

awwww purdy!

11. Guera - January 29, 2008

Gorgeous! How did you cover them? Is it paper or card stock on the outside. I haven’t made any cards for ages. Just been too lazy! πŸ™‚

12. Tiffany - January 29, 2008

They are fantastic! I love scrapbooking and things like that. I’ve got one of those each for Ivy and Noah. It’s got all the things in it from birth.
Well done!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

