jump to navigation

BBQ, Bourbon and Euchre January 21, 2008

Posted by Mistress B in Family, Friends, Funny Stuff, Hubby, Ramblings.
Tags: , ,
trackback

After running around like a headless chook for most of yesterday, I got to relax last night in splendid style at someone else’s house, eating BBQ’d yummy stuff, drinking bourbon and playing euchre.

I had to laugh. When we started playing cards, two of the older fella’s in the group begged off saying they didn’t know how……….  then proceeded to look at my cards over my shoulder and tell me what to do!!

Reminded me of when I was 12…………… my parents and their friends used to get together for cards and drinks most regularly, and when the hour grew late and the cards got slippery us kids would get called in to hold them so that our respective fathers didn’t have to worry about dropping them if they fell off their chairs. I’m quite sure that they would have also taken us to the pub with them when playing there had it been allowed……………

So us kids all learnt to play cards VERY well, euchre, canasta, poker….. Our fathers took the job of imparting their hard drunk earned pub card playing wisdom upon us (but I don’t think they played canasta at the pub lol). When sober they used to watch with approval and occasionally offer some advice that wasn’t slurred gibberish actually made sense.

I was not in a losing mood last night so I ditched my spouse (who has never had the benefit of playing cards while being given drunken advice) in favour of my favourite fellow card shark and we KICKED BUTT! Won the first round without even conceding a point. My over the shoulder commentators were most impressed………. I think my dad would have been too! lmao

Comments

1. Casdok - January 21, 2008

Sounds like fun!

2. Marita - January 21, 2008

Sounds like a fun evening. My parents were strict Baptist and I grew up in a family that didn’t drink, didn’t play cards and basically didn’t have much fun. I’d have swapped bible study evenings for drunk card playing anyday.

3. Anja - January 21, 2008

Baptists! No dancin’, no drinkin’, no jokin’, no pokin’, no smokin’… poor Marita. *nods*

I’m a lapsed, um… a bit more than lapsed *giggles* Catholic. We do all of the above, and then confess. Darn good arrangement all ’round.

4. Jayne - January 21, 2008

Cribbage and poker are our games and the crib parties could get quite heated when they got going LOL.
Sounds like a great time 🙂

5. harrietarcher - January 21, 2008

DEJA VOODOO!!!!

That describes summer holidays at my grandparents… Parents and grandparents playing eucre and drinkin’ copious and us kids being called upon to hold the cards and count the tricks!

Also playing pontoon with 20c pieces, and cheating blatantly. And cheating the cheaters

6. magneto bold too - January 21, 2008

Sounds like an awesome evening. Even if I can’t even win at Snap.

7. tiggymooshoo - January 21, 2008

My mum loved canasta. She tried her hardest to get us to play every school holidays.

8. Nikki - January 22, 2008

I can play Go Fish !!!!

Sounds a great night.

9. boneblower - January 28, 2008

I’m so with you……….must win at all costs 🙂

Card night hey? Sounds like a plan! I’m also organising a ‘naughty but nice’ dinner party this year!!

10. river - June 19, 2008

I only ever learnt to play snap and solitaire. Then one day my brother showed me how to play 52 pickup.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

