jump to navigation

Damn! December 11, 2007

Posted by Mistress B in Cancer, Health, Hysterectomy, Recovery.
trackback

I had my post surgery follow up appointment today.

 I drove myself there.

I walked into the waiting room and presented myself to reception……… walking normally, without a twinge of pain.

Then I saw the other chick who had a hysterectomy  the same day as me. She’s still sore. Very, very sore. She moves slowly and carefully and is obviously sore. For a moment I feel guilty, then laugh at myself for feeling guilty over my own good fortune.

My surgeon tells me I look good. He says my wound is healing nicely. He is very pleased that I’m having no pain or problems.

Then comes the kicker.

He tells me my biopsy results. They weren’t normal. The cancer cells were back.

If I hadn’t had the hysterectomy, I would have needed surgery in the next month or two anyhow to remove this batch of bad cells. That would have been two surgeries for this in the space of 20 months.  As things stand now, I’m clear and won’t need anymore tests for at least 3 years instead of every 3 to 6 months.

*huge sigh of relief*

And some people thought I was mad having a hysterectomy so young.  

Comments

1. Lisa - December 12, 2007

I’m so glad that all is going welll and its even better that you dont need to endure another operation..

2. Bettina - December 12, 2007

Thanks Lisa. I was a bit stunned last night. Just confirms that I was doing the right thing I guess.

3. Lisa - December 12, 2007

I bet it did, I’ve been good. busy at work, then get home and I dont feel like doing too much. But I need to get my act together tonight I think.

4. Lightening - December 12, 2007

Oh my! How scary for you – and yet relieving at the same time. I’m glad it’s worked out for the best for you and that you’re recovering well. 🙂

LOVE the new blog. It looks very nice (and impressive). 🙂 How are you going finding your way around wordpress after using blogger?????? I’m not finding it quite as user friendly myself but I guess it’s only because it’s all still new (and yet I’ve had a wordpress blog for a little while – a separate blog).

5. Lightening - December 12, 2007

You’ve been tagged babe. Meme on my blog. Or will be when I actually hit post!!! 🙂 Fixed my blogroll too so you’re all official like now. LOL.

6. Bettina - December 12, 2007

whoot! Am so glad you have fixed me lol (on your blog)

I’m finding it ok, I like it better than blogger – has more features that I find interesting or might use, I just need to learn how to do a little hotmail so I can set some things the way I’d like them.

Will go check out the meme soon

Hope you find your motivation Lisa!

7. 4 Quick Questions « Dances to the beet of her own drum’s Weblog - December 12, 2007

[…] not really. Well. Except for yesterday’s bit of news when I saw my surgeon, I wasn’t expecting […]

8. magneto bold too - December 13, 2007

Oh babe. Good and bad at the same time.

Haven’t been visiting for a while cause my stupid freaking blog went nuts and deleted some of my links to blogs and then you haven’t been linking your blog to your comments on mine! So I came via another blog.

Will try and fix it ASAP when I work out what the freak happened!

AND WHOOT! You are on wordpress!!!

big smootches.

9. Bettina - December 13, 2007

ti’s cool darl. smootches back at ya!

10. river - June 18, 2008

I was in pain for a good while after my hysterectomy. I thought it was normal. My checkup was scheduled for the week when I’d started back at work. I learned that the internal stitch line had gotten infected and what the heck was I doing back at work so soon!!?? I explained that we needed the money, he prescribed some heavy duty antibiotics and a week later all was well.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

