jump to navigation

Decisions, Decisions! October 1, 2007

Posted by Mistress B in My Brigade.
trackback

My fire brigade has always been a place of tension. Always. I’ve been there 12 years and even it its good times there is an undercurrent of nastiness just waiting to bite. Earlier this year those tensions finally bubbled over and rendered the brigade completely dysfunctional. The end result being a split in the brigade and our zone team manager making the decision to close it down. So the shed was locked up, everyone had to hand their gear in and we weren’t meant to be doing anything with the service.

Last month there was a public meeting to discuss forming a new brigade. All members of the previous brigade were invited to apply to join the new one and the zone team will be appointing the executive members instead of holding an election. Any members thinking that they would like to hold an executive position were invited to write application letters as if applying for a job. Unfortunately a few months break was not enough to cool some tempers and loosen some grudges.

I wasn’t going to apply for anything. I’d be happy to take on a job if need be, but am not interested in the target for my back that will come with it. I’ve copped more than my fair share of shit over the past 6 months and was hoping to steer clear of it from here on out. However some of my fellow members asked me to please put in for the secretary/treasurer job as they have little confidence in the only person that they knew of who was putting in for it. I don’t want to let them down either and realistically I’m still going to cop shit anyhow so….what to do what to do …… how to put in an application letter saying “I don’t want the job, but I’ll do it if I have to cos I was asked to & there aren’t that many people to pick from” but without sounding put upon, arrogant or flippant lol

I think I’ve done it and I think I’ve made it quite clear why I am applying. I just hope that the powers that be will also step up once the new brigade is formed with the new executive installed and stop letting the ones who make the most noise get away with blue murder!

There is another meeting to formally open the new brigade and announce the new executive next week. It will be interesting I’m sure.

Comments

1. Kelley - October 1, 2007

*snigger* you said ‘shit’ twice! I think I might be rubbing off on you *snigger* soon you will be eying off fabulous shoes….

Anyway, hope you get the job for the brigades sake and that you don’t for your sake, LMAO.
Hugs

2. Precious_1 - October 1, 2007

lolol Oh Kelley if only you could read my email inbox…….. but you really are my kinda people.

shit was really the most appropriate word to describe the situation believe me!

And really…….. what do you expect from someone who hangs out in firestations? lmao


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

